Skip to main content

Entrepreneurial University of the Year



The University of Leeds has been named ‘Entrepreneurial University of the Year’ at the Times Higher Education Awards.

Seen as the ‘Oscars’ of the higher education sector, the award recognised the University’s role in offering opportunities for student entrepreneurship, the support provided for small businesses in the region and its significant innovation and IP commercialisation work.

Professor Nigel Lockett, Director of Enterprise Learning, said: “This award is the ultimate accolade for any enterprising university and the culmination of years of hard work across the whole university.

“From student start-ups to university spin-out companies and from exceptional enterprise education to supporting high-growth firms in the region, what differentiates Leeds is our commitment to commercialising world leading research and enabling enterprise students and graduates to make economic, social and cultural impact.

“Building this sector leading enterprise offer is the result of the support and collaboration of staff, students, alumni and entrepreneurs - a winning team.”

The title of Entrepreneurial University of the Year is one of many honours and awards the University has been nominated for this year for its enterprise initiatives.

Leeds also won The Duke of York Award for University Entrepreneurship at the 2015 Lloyds Bank National Business Awards in November, which recognised the University’s role in encouraging and enabling student entrepreneurship and supporting high growth small businesses in the region.

In September, Kairen Skelley, head of the University’s student start-up service Spark, was also named as the Higher Education Enterprise Champion at the National Enterprise Educator Awards. Professor Nigel Lockett also received a prestigious teaching award in June, a National Teaching Fellowship, marking his success in helping students, graduates and growing businesses develop their entrepreneurial skills.

The Times Higher Education Awards 2015 are open to all UK higher education institutions and showcases best practice in universities.

The results were announced at a ceremony on Thursday 26 November.